Living With a Wolf

When breathing became
impossible and I gathered
heartbeats like pearls
harboured secretly
within
You loped with me deep
into the woods our strides
matching those of
ancient ancestors
dead
Long in the light you resisted
the urge to howl urging
me on with subtler
shades
Prodding gently your lupine
nose wet against my
palm snuffling
when I was
tempted
to
Stop your eyes unfathomable
but filled with knowledge
beyond knowing
kept me
going
Until we came to the water
not a river nor
a lake as
expected at least
By me but a box of lakes
where you drank
your fill before
disappearing
in a hair
Your tail flashing silver
between birch and larch
before I
folded myself
beneath
the waves
and
slept.

8 thoughts on “Living With a Wolf

  1. Thank you for visiting, reading and commenting … I am so enamoured of wolves, have written about them so often – I may have to do my own “Howl” chapbook, or at least a chapter dedicated to the lupine set …

If you're so inclined, I'd love to hear from you ...

